• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Primeiros ministros mais tempo no poder infographic
A infografia mostra uma lista dos Primeiros minitros mais tempo no poder na Índia.


Narendra Modi procura histórico terceiro mandato

By Jordi Bou

April 19, 2024 - June 1, 2024 - Uma vitória de Narendra Modi nas próximas eleições faria dele apenas o segundo Primeiro ministro depois de Jawaharlal Nehru, herói da
independência da Índia, a conseguir um terceiro mandato consecutivo.

If he wins, Modi wouldn’t be the first prime minister to secure three successive terms; Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first prime minister, died in office in 1964, two years after being elected to a fourth straight term.

However, since then, no Indian leader has served more than two consecutive terms, leading some critics to say Modi is attempting to break a norm.

Meanwhile, if Modi stays in office until May 30, he will surpass Manmohan Singh to become the third longest-serving prime minister after Nehru and Indira Gandhi.

PUBLISHED: 11/04/2024; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images