Graphic shows tournament format, teams and fixtures.


Super Rugby 2021 houdt geregionaliseerd format

By Chris Dinsdale

February 19, 2021 - May 8, 2021 - The southern hemisphere’s top rugby union club tournament gets underway. Due to ongoing international travel restrictions, the Super Rugby season kicks off with two domestic tournaments – Super Rugby AU and Super Rugby Aotearoa – as five teams from Australia and New Zealand compete to be crowned national champions.

Super Rugby AU teams:
Brumbies (Canberra), Western Force (Perth), Rebels (Melbourne), Reds (Brisbane) and Waratahs (Sydney).

Super Rugby Aotearoa teams:
Blues (Auckland) Crusaders (Christchurch), Chiefs (Hamilton), Highlanders (Dunedin) and Hurricanes (Wellington).

Each team will play eight domestic matches in a round robin format. The New Zealand edition -- Super Rugby Aotearoa -- will conclude in a final between the top two seeds, while Super Rugby AU will include a qualifying final between second and third-placed seeds, before a final showpiece on May 8.

New Zealand’s Crusaders are Super Rugby’s most successful team, having won 10 of 24 titles, including the inaugural Super Rugby Aotearoa in 2020.

PUBLISHED: 17/02/2021; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images