Berlin E-Prix circuit baanvariaties infographic
Graphic shows three different track configurations used at Berlin E-Prix circuit to conclude Formula E 2019-20 season.


Formule E toont de veranderingen voor de E-Prix-rqces in Berlijn

By Tony Mullins

August 5, 2020 - August 13, 2020 - Formula E resumes racing with six races in nine days at Tempelhof Airport in Berlin to decide the winner of the 2019-20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship. The historic German airfield hosts three double-headers on August 5-6, 8-9 and 12-13. Each pair of races will use a different track configuration, presenting opportunities for distinct strategies.

The circuit for Rounds 6-7 will feature a layout familiar to the Formula E drivers, but presents a new challenge with the circuit running clockwise. This marks the first time that a track from an international circuit racing championship will be run in reverse.

For rounds 8-9, the circuit is flipped to the regular anti-clockwise direction. The 24 drivers are well acquainted with the 10 turns, as the Berlin E-Prix is a regular fixture on the calendar.

For the finale of the 2019/20 season, rounds 10-11 will take place on a completely new circuit. From Turn 4, the circuit features a more technical middle sector with a series a tight and twisty turns leading to the usual hairpin and long left hander that runs to the flag.

Formula E suspended its regular season in March following the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic, with just five races completed. DS Techeetah driver Antonio Felix da Costa topped the standings, 11 points clear of his nearest rival, Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans.

PUBLISHED: 27/07/2020; STORY: Graphic News
Graphic News Standards