Graphic toont de landen die getroffen worden door het reisverbod, en de restricties die gelden.


Trump schort reizen van Europa naar VS op

By Jordi Bou

March 12, 2020 - President Donald Trump heeft voor burgers uit 26 Europese landen voor de komende 30 dagen de toegang tot de Verenigde Staten ontzegd in een poging de verspreiding van het coronavirus te stuiten.

The travel ban, which is to go into effect Friday at midnight, applies to foreign nationals who have been in any of the 26 Schengen border-free countries in 14 days before their planned arrival in the U.S.

This leaves a number of other European countries including UK and Ireland unaffected, although it is not clear why because the virus is also present in those countries.

The restrictions apply only to foreign nationals, and not U.S. citizens, green card holders or the families of U.S. citizens, the Department of Homeland Security said.

The travel ban does not apply to European trade or goods, though Trump suggested that that was the case during his prime-time address.

The White House scrambled to fix his apparent misstatement, clarifying that the restriction applied only to people. Trump himself tweeted out a clarification moments after his speech ended.

PUBLISHED: 12/03/2020; STORY: Graphic News
Graphic News Standards