• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Historia de la Copa Henri Delaunay infographic
El gráfico muestra la historia de la Copa Henri Delaunay, que se otorga a los ganadores de la Eurocopa UEFA.


Historia de la Copa Henri Delaunay

By Chris Dinsdale

June 14, 2024 - July 14, 2024 - La Eurocopa UEFA se realiza en Alemania, a partir del 14 de junio. El trofeo que se otorga al equipo ganador lleva el nombre de Henri Delaunay el primer secretario general de la UEFA, quien propuso por primera vez un campeonato paneuropeo. Delaunay murió en 1955, cinco años antes del torneo inaugural.

The original silverware, awarded from 1960 to 2004, was designed by Pierre Delaunay, Henri’s son, and made by Chobillon goldsmiths. The trophy was later bought by Paris jeweller Arthus Bertrand.

In 2008, the cup was remodelled by renowned silversmiths Asprey of London. Cast in sterling silver, it is 18cm taller and 2kg heavier than the original, to reflect the scale of Europe’s most prestigious championships, and to avoid being overshadowed by other trophies in UEFA’s portfolio, such as the Champions League.

Ten teams have lifted the trophy since the inaugural European Championships in 1960, including Spain, whose captain Iker Casillas was the first player to hoist the new trophy after Spain beat Germany in the 2008 final in Vienna.

A total of 51 matches will be played at 10 venues over four weeks, with the final played at Olympiastadion in Berlin on July 14.

PUBLISHED: 21/04/2024; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images