Pakistan in crisis infographic
Graphic shows timeline of Pakistan’s financial crisis.


Pakistan’s rival parties reach power-sharing deal

By Duncan Mil

February 21, 2024 - Two Pakistan parties have reached a power-sharing agreement that will return Shehbaz Sharif to the premiership, leaving out politicians loyal to jailed former leader Imran Khan despite winning the most seats in the indecisive February 8 vote.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan, independent candidates won 101 seats. Most of the independents are affiliated with Khan’s party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

The Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz Party (PMLN), headed by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, came in second with 73 seats, and the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) won 54 seats.

The army-backed PML-N and the PPP said they had settled days of negotiations on securing a majority to form a coalition government that includes several smaller parties.

The announcement is set to end political uncertainty in the country.

“The Pakistan Peoples Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz have attained the numbers and we will form a government,” said PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.

“We are hopeful that Shehbaz Sharif will soon become the prime minister.”

The PTI lashed out against the agreement. “The PML-N and the Peoples Party deserve some praise for their epic 30-year journey, from stealing taxpayers’ money together to stealing an election together,” the party said on social media platform X.

Khan was ousted from power in 2018 after analysts say he waged a risky campaign of defiance against the army and the establishment.

PUBLISHED: 21/02/2024; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images