BRICS expansion infographic
Graphic shows details of BRICS countries and new members.


BRICS group set to welcome six new members

August 25, 2023 - The BRICS group of emerging economies has agreed to admit six new members in a move aimed at accelerating its push to reshuffle a world order it sees as outdated.

The Brics countries – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa – are often seen as a counterweight to the Western-led world.

The six new countries – Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates – are set to join in January.

In deciding in favour of an expansion – the bloc’s first in 13 years – BRICS leaders left the door open to future enlargement as dozens more countries voiced interest in joining a grouping they hope can level the global playing field, Reuters said.

PUBLISHED: 25/08/2023; STORY: Graphic News