• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 FIFA World Cup legends infographic
Graphic shows winning coaches and captains at the FIFA World Cup since 1930, plus winners of the Player of the Tournament and Young Player of the Tournament awards.


FIFA World Cup: Legends of the game

By Chris Dinsdale

November 20, 2022 - December 18, 2022 - The FIFA World Cup takes place in Qatar, with 32 teams competing to be crowned World Champions. In 2018, Didier Deschamps joined Franz Beckenbauer and Mario Zagallo as the only three people to win the World Cup as both player and coach.

The 2022 tournament marks the first time that the showpiece has been held in the Middle East, outside soccer’s traditional heartlands.

A total of 64 matches will be played at eight venues over four weeks, with the final taking place at the Lusail Iconic Stadium, on December 18.

FIFA now awards five accolades for each World Cup tournament:

Golden Ball: Awarded to best player in the tournament
Golden Boot: Top goalscorer
Golden Glove: Best goalkeeper
Best Young Player: Best player aged 21 or under
FIFA Fair Play Trophy: Awarded to the team that advanced to the second round with the best record of fair play

PUBLISHED: 17/08/2022; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images