FIFA World Cup winners and finalists infographic
Graphic shows winners and finalists of the FIFA World Cup.


FIFA World Cup 2022 winners and finalists

By Chris Dinsdale

November 20, 2022 - December 18, 2022 - The FIFA World Cup takes place in Qatar, with 32 teams competing to be crowned World Champions. Eight separate nations have lifted the World Cup since it began in 1930, all from the football powerhouses of Europe and South America.

The 2022 tournament marks the first time that the showpiece has been held in the Middle East, outside soccer’s traditional heartlands.

Host nation Qatar will open the tournament against Ecuador at the Al Bayt Stadium, in Al Khor on November 21. Reigning champions France begin their campaign with a clash against Australia in the Al Janoub Stadium, perennial favourites Brazil face Serbia in Lusail, while Germany and Spain -- who are set to meet in a highly anticipated Group E contest on November 27 -- kick off against Japan and Costa Rica respectively.

A total of 64 matches will be played at eight venues over four weeks, with the final taking place at the Lusail Iconic Stadium, on December 18.

FIFA World Cup 2022 Finals draw:

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Netherlands, Senegal
Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales
Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

PUBLISHED: 18/07/2022; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images