• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
Graphic shows match schedule for the tournament, and details of 2022 Six Nations standings.


Six Nations 2022 schedule

By Chris Dinsdale

February 5, 2022 - March 19, 2022 - The Six Nations Championship 2022. Reigning champions Wales begin their title defence against Ireland at the Aviva Stadium, in Dublin, as the northern hemisphere’s premier rugby union tournament kicks off.

The Six Nations Championship is played each year between England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. Each team plays every other team over five rounds, a total of 15 matches, with home advantage alternating between seasons.

The tournament began in 1883 between the four “home” nations of England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, with France joining in 1910 and Italy in 2000 to give the current six nations.

Under the umbrella of the tournament there are individual competitions such as the Calcutta Cup match (contested between England and Scotland since 1879), the Millennium Trophy (England and Ireland, since 1988), the Centenary Quaich (Ireland and Scotland, since 1989), and the Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy (France and Italy, since 1988). The Triple Crown is awarded to a home nation that beats the other three home nations. If a team wins all of its five matches they win a “Grand Slam”.

PUBLISHED: 25/01/2022; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images