• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
Graphic shows countries where Queen Elizabeth remains head of state.


Barbados removes Queen Elizabeth as head of state

By Jordi Bou

November 30, 2021 - The Caribbean nation of Barbados becomes the world’s newest republic after removing Queen Elizabeth as its head of state and swearing in its first ever Barbadian president.

The transition, flagged last year in the thick of activism inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, is being executed amicably, in the presence of Prince Charles, the 73-year-old heir to the British throne.

The country becomes a republic by November 30, 2021, to coincide with Barbados' 55th anniversary of independence from Britain.

In addition to the UK, Queen Elizabeth II currently serves as the Head of State of Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

These countries are known as “Commonwealth Realms,” which are distinct from the broader 54-nation Commonwealth of nations that have some connection to Great Britain, but do not necessarily have the Queen as head of state.

Barbados’ move could pave the way for other Commonwealth Realm countries to renounce monarchy.

PUBLISHED: 29/11/2021; STORY: Graphic News