• POLITICS: Germany election result (Graphic DUE Sep 26, 19:00GMT)
  • For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 NFL expands to historic 17-game season infographic
Graphic shows locations of all NFL franchises, opening fixtures for 2021 season and details of Super Bowl champions since 1966.


American Football season set for 2021 Kickoff

By Chris Dinsdale

September 9, 2021 - February 13, 2022 - Opening games of the National Football League (NFL) 2021 season. The NFL schedule has expanded for the first time since 1978, with owners approving plans for each team to play one additional game during the regular season. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers, the defending Super Bowl champions, take on the Dallas Cowboys in the traditional Kickoff Game to launch the 102nd NFL season.

The NFL is one of the four major professional sports leagues in the United States.

A total of 32 teams play in the American Football Conference (AFC) and National Football Conference (NFC) -- 16 in each. Teams play 17 matches over a 18-week regular season, after which seven teams from each conference (four division winners and three wild card teams) advance to the playoffs, culminating in the showpiece Super Bowl game contested by the top two teams on February 13, 2022.

Baltimore Ravens
Buffalo Bills
Cincinnati Bengals
Cleveland Browns
Denver Broncos
Houston Texans
Indianapolis Colts
Jacksonville Jaguars
Kansas City Chiefs
Las Vegas Raiders
Los Angeles Chargers
Miami Dolphins
New England Patriots
New York Jets
Pittsburgh Steelers
Tennessee Titans

Arizona Cardinals
Atlanta Falcons
Carolina Panthers
Chicago Bears
Dallas Cowboys
Detroit Lions
Green Bay Packers
Los Angeles Rams
Minnesota Vikings
New Orleans Saints
New York Giants
Philadelphia Eagles
San Francisco 49ers
Seattle Seahawks
Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Washington Football Team

PUBLISHED: 23/08/2021; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images