• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
Graphic shows history of the Henri Delaunay Cup, presented to the winners of the UEFA European Championship.


History of the UEFA European Championships trophy

By Chris Dinsdale

June 11, 2021 - July 11, 2021 - The UEFA European Championships, delayed by a year due to the coronavirus pandemic, but retaining the UEFA Euro 2020 title, takes place across 12 host cities in Europe. The trophy awarded to the winning team is named in honour of Henri Delaunay, the first General Secretary of UEFA who first proposed a pan-European Championship. Delaunay died in 1955, five years before the inaugural tournament.

The original silverware, awarded from 1960 to 2004, was designed by Pierre Delaunay, Henri’s son, and made by Chobillon goldsmiths. The trophy was later bought by Paris jeweller Arthus Bertrand.

In 2008, the cup was remodelled by renowned silversmiths Asprey of London. Cast in sterling silver, it is 18cm taller and 2kg heavier than the original, to reflect the scale of Europe’s most prestigious championships, and to avoid being overshadowed by other trophies in UEFA’s portfolio, such as the Champions League.

Ten teams have lifted the trophy since the inaugural European Championships in 1960, including Spain, whose captain Iker Casillas was the first player to hoist the new trophy after Spain beat Germany in the 2008 final in Vienna.

A total of 51 matches will be played at 12 Euro 2020 venues over four weeks, with the final taking place at Wembley Stadium in London on July 11.

PUBLISHED: 14/04/2021; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Associated Press, Getty Images