Graphic shows players with most ATP Finals titles, and recent winners at the ATP Finals.


ATP Finals mark 50th anniversary

By Chris Dinsdale

November 15, 2020 - November 22, 2020 - The Nitto ATP World Tour Finals take place in London, featuring the world’s top eight-ranked players. World No.1 Novak Djokovic heads into the season-ending ATP Finals aiming to secure a sixth title to equal the record of rival Roger Federer.

The season-ending ATP Finals -- contested by the top eight players in the world -- are played in London for the final time before Turin takes over hosting duties next year. As the coronavirus pandemic severely disrupted the 2020 calendar, the ATP Rankings as of November 9 have been used to decide the competing players in this edition.

The format of the ATP World Tour Finals sees the players divided into two groups of four who each play three round-robin matches against the others in their group. The two players with the best records in each group progress to the semifinals, with the winners meeting in the final to determine the champion.

After over a decade of domination by Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic, the last four champions have all been first-time winners, most recently 2019 champion Stefanos Tsitsipas.

Strangely, Rafael Nadal, who shares the record of 20 Grand Slam titles with Federer, has never won the ATP Finals. 2020 will mark his 10th attempt to win the season-ending tournament.

PUBLISHED: 10/11/2020; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images
Graphic News Standards