Graphic shows presidents that failed to win re-election for a second term.


Trump becomes a one-term president

By Jordi Bou

November 7, 2020 - Democrat Vice President Joe Biden has defeated Donald Trump in the U.S. presidential election. Victory in Pennsylvania delivered 20 Electoral College votes, pushing him past the 270-vote threshold needed to take the White House. President Trump has vowed to file legal challenges.

Of the 44 who have held office, only 11 presidents have failed to win re-election for a second term, when they have attempted to.

The last president to have failed to win re-election was George H.W. Bush, who lost to Bill Clinton in 1992.

With coronavirus pandemic killing more than a quarter of a million Americans and putting the economy into recession, Trump has lost to Joe Biden after a close race.

Trump was narrowly defeated with the death toll from the coronavirus pandemic claiming almost a quarter of a million American lives and the economy in recession.

PUBLISHED: 10/11/2020; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: AP, Newscom, Getty Images, Courtesy National Gallery of Art, Washington
Graphic News Standards