Graphic shows tournament schedule for Super Rugby Aotearoa, with venues.


New Zealand expects capacity crowds for tournament launch

By Chris Dinsdale

June 13, 2020 - August 16, 2020 - The first professional game of rugby union since March kicks off in New Zealand. The new Super Rugby Aotearoa tournament features five home teams and is expected to attract capacity crowds following the relaxation of restrictions on mass gatherings.

Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa will feature New Zealand’s five Investec Super Rugby clubs -- the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders -- playing each other home and away in a 10-week competition.

The domestic competition is temporarily replacing the main Super Rugby tournament featuring teams from New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Argentina and Japan, which was indefinitely suspended in March due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Opening Super Rugby Aotearoa fixtures:
Jun 13: Highlanders - Chiefs
Jun 14: Blues - Hurricanes

PUBLISHED: 10/06/2020; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images
Graphic News Standards