Graphic shows match schedule for the tournament, and details of past Six Nations champions.


Six Nations 2020 schedule

By Chris Dinsdale

February 1, 2020 - March 14, 2020 - The Six Nations, the northern hemisphere’s premier rugby union tournament kicks off. Wales, Grand Slam champions in 2019 and later semi-finalists at the Rugby World Cup in Japan, aim to continue their good form as they get their title defence underway against Scotland under new coach Wayne Pivac, who succeeds Warren Gatland.

The Six Nations Championship is played each year between England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. Each team plays every other team over five rounds, a total of 15 matches, with home advantage alternating between seasons.

The tournament began in 1883 between the four “home” nations of England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, with France joining in 1910 and Italy in 2000 to give the current six nations.

Under the umbrella of the tournament there are individual competitions such as the Calcutta Cup match (contested between England and Scotland since 1879), the Millennium Trophy (England and Ireland, since 1988), the Centenary Quaich (Ireland and Scotland, since 1989), and the Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy (France and Italy, since 1988). The Triple Crown is awarded to a home nation that beats the other three home nations. If a team wins all of its five matches they win a “Grand Slam”.

PUBLISHED: 23/01/2020; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images
Graphic News Standards