Graphic shows countries with most Copa Libertadores titles, with details of recent winners.


Argentina and Brazil set to continue Libertadores domination

By Chris Dinsdale

January 21, 2020 - November 21, 2020 - The Copa Libertadores, South America’s premier club competition, kicks off, featuring teams from all 10 CONMEBOL member associations.

CONMEBOL member associations include Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraquay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Teams from Argentina and Brazil are traditionally dominant in the tournament, sharing 44 of 60 titles between them since 1960. Flamengo of Brazil are the reigning continental champions following their victory over Argentina’s Boca Juniors in 2019, when a new single-match final format was established.

The final on November 21 will be hosted at Brazil’s iconic Estadio do Maracana in Rio de Janeiro, the fourth time the stadium has hosted the showpiece event.

PUBLISHED: 14/01/2020; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images
Graphic News Standards