Graphic shows Davis Cup match schedule, with details of new format for tournament.


New Finals format for Davis Cup 2019

By Chris Dinsdale

November 18, 2019 - November 24, 2019 - Madrid hosts the first edition of the revamped Davis Cup Finals. The premier international men’s team event, played since 1900, replaces its traditional format with a World Cup-style event.

The 2019 Davis Cup will be the 108th edition of the Davis Cup.

The format of the cup has changed dramatically this year. The World Group takes place at one location over a single week, with 18 teams divided into six round-robin groups of three teams each, with the group winners and the two best second-place teams advancing to the quarterfinals.

The teams will each play two singles matches and one doubles match, instead of the previous best-of-5 series, and the matches themselves will drop from best of 5 sets to best of 3.

As the World Group now becomes a single tournament, the event has been renamed as the Davis Cup Finals.

PUBLISHED:06/11/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images
Graphic News Standards

Welcome To Graphic News

At Graphic News we are fanatical about the news - what is happening in the world and why! Like other news websites we have different sections for sport and news, but unlike other sites we present the information visually and concisely in an infographic, with a short story giving the context, and links to the sources we have used.

Whether you are simply interested in world news and sport, looking to obtain occasional graphics, or would like unlimited usage, we have flexible solutions to meet your needs.

Profile Image

Jane Brodie, Director