Guide to Rugby Union infographic
Graphic shows guide to Rugby Union, with details of scoring methods.


Beginners’ guide to Rugby Union

By Chris Dinsdale

September 20, 2019 - November 2, 2019 - The Rugby World Cup takes place in Japan, with 20 teams competing to be crowned World Champions. Rugby Union is a contact team sport using an oval-shaped ball, featuring two teams of 15 players who attempt to score tries or win penalties by moving the ball from player to player by hand, always passing it backwards.

The 2019 tournament in Japan marks the first time that the showpiece has been held in Asia, outside rugby's traditional heartlands.

New Zealand are aiming to lift the Webb Ellis Cup for a record-extending fourth time after their triumph in 2015.

A total of 48 matches will be played at 12 venues over six weeks, with the final taking place at Nissan Stadium in Yokohama on November 2.

PUBLISHED: 12/09/2019; STORY: Graphic News
Graphic News Standards