Who’s who in new European Commission (2) infographic
Graphic shows new European Commission members.


New European Commission takes over

By Jordi Bou

December 1, 2019 - The new European Commission takes over a month later than planned. Ursula von der Leyen’s new team was scheduled to start its work on November 1 but the transition process was delayed after the Parliament rejected three candidates from France, Romania and Hungary, whose governments then had to find replacements.

The new team of commissioners were confirmed by a vote of the European Parliament on November 27.

Von der Leyen, Germany's former defence minister and long-time close ally of Chancellor Angela Merkel, is the first woman to take on the presidency.

She has received praise for her effort to create a gender-balanced commissioner for the first time. 12 of her 27 commissioners are women.

The new team has three executive vice-presidents: Valdis Dombrokvskis (Latvia), Frans Timmermans (Netherlands) and Margrethe Vestager (Denmark).

Dutch socialist Timmermans is in charge of the European Green Deal that Von der Leyen champions.

There is no UK commissioner. Prime Minister Boris Johnson's government opted not to nominate a candidate even though the UK has not yet left the union and the EU has since launched legal action.

PUBLISHED: 28/11/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Newscom, Getty Images, Creative Commons
Graphic News Standards