• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Rugby World Cup winners and finalists infographic
Graphic shows winners and finalists of each Rugby World Cup tournament.


Rugby World Cup past winners and finalists

By Chris Dinsdale

September 20, 2019 - November 2, 2019 - The Rugby World Cup takes place in Japan. New Zealand are aiming to lift the Webb Ellis Cup for a record-extending fourth time after their triumph in 2015, a victory that moved them ahead of Australia and South Africa who have each won the tournament twice. England remain the only northern hemisphere team to have hoisted the trophy, in 2003.

The 2019 tournament marks the first time that the showpiece has been held in Asia, outside rugby's traditional heartlands.

A total of 48 matches will be played at 12 venues over six weeks, with the final taking place at Nissan Stadium in Yokohama on November 2.

Twenty countries are competing to be crowned World Champions: Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Namibia, New Zealand, Russia, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Tonga, Uruguay, USA and Wales.

PUBLISHED: 04/09/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images