• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Rugby World Cup 2019 stadiums infographic
Graphic shows details and capacity of each stadium, with schedule of matches to be played during the Rugby World Cup.


Rugby World Cup 2019 stadia

By Chris Dinsdale

September 20, 2019 - November 2, 2019 - The Rugby World Cup takes place in Japan, with 20 teams competing to be crowned World Champions. The venues hosting the six-week showpiece are: Tokyo, Sapporo, Yokohama, Higashi-Osaka, Toyota, Kumagaya, Kamaishi, Fukuoka, Kobe, Shizuoka, Oita, and Kumamoto.

The 2019 tournament marks the first time that the showpiece has been held in Asia, outside rugby’s traditional heartlands.

Host nation Japan will open the tournament against Russia at Tokyo Stadium on September 20. Reigning champions New Zealand begin their campaign with a heavyweight clash against South Africa in Yokohama, while 2015 finalists Australia face Fiji in Sapporo, and France and Argentina kick off Pool C -- which also includes England -- with a highly anticipated contest that will also be staged in Tokyo.

A total of 48 matches will be played at 12 venues over six weeks, with the final taking place at the International Stadium in Yokohama on November 2.

PUBLISHED: 29/08/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Newscom, Getty Images