Interactive race guide shows route, calendar, and details of each stage with live results of each stage, including leader’s progress, and full classification results.


La Vuelta a España guide 2019

By Ben Mullins

August 24, 2019 - September 15, 2019 - The 74rd edition of the Vuelta a España, cycling’s final Grand Tour of the year

The race starts in Torrevieja on the Costa Blanca then moves through Valencia, Aragon and Catalonia to Andorra. After crossing over to France, the peloton heads to the Basque Country, Cantabria and Asturias before ending with a circuit in Madrid.

The competition includes eight mountain-top finishes – five of them new – a team time trial, an individual time trial and seven sprint stages.

Eighteen WorldTour teams receive an automatic invite to the race, with eight riders each. Four wildcard teams are also chose by the organiser, Amaury Sport Organisation (ASO), to complete the 22-team peloton.

UCI WorldTeams:
AG2R La Mondiale, France
Astana Pro Team, Kazakhstan
Bahrain-Merida, Bahrain
Bora-Hansgrohe, Germany
CCC Team, Poland
Deceuninck-Quick Step, Belgium
EF Education First, United States
Groupama-FDJ, France
Lotto Soudal, Belgium
Mitchelton-Scott, Australia
Movistar Team, Spain
Team Dimension Data, South Africa
Team Ineos, Great Britain
Team Jumbo-Visma, Netherlands
Team Katusha-Alpecin, Switzerland
Team Sunweb, Germany
Trek-Segafredo, United States
UAE Team Emirates, UAE

Wild card teams:
Burgos-BH, Spain
Euskadi Basque Country-Murias, Spain
Cofidis, Solutions Crédits, France
Caja Rural-Seguros, Spain

PUBLISHED: 22/08/2019; STORY: Graphic News
Graphic News Standards