Cricket World Cup facts and figures infographic
Graphic shows selected statistics and facts from the ICC Cricket World Cup.


Cricket World Cup facts and figures

By Chris Dinsdale

May 30, 2019 - July 14, 2019 - The ICC Cricket World Cup takes place in England and Wales. Australia hold the record for the most World Cup matches played (84), while India have amassed the highest number of centuries – captain Virat Kohli alone has 41 batting scores over 100 in the one-day format. Sri Lanka has the most experienced squad, including bowler Lasith Malinga who is their most prolific wicket-taker in World Cup matches, with 43 to date.

Ten teams are competing to be crowned World Champions. Host nation England open the tournament against South Africa at The Oval, in London, on May 30, while reigning champions Australia begin their campaign against an improving Afghanistan.

Australia are aiming for a record-extending sixth title after their triumph in 2015. Only five countries have ever won the Cricket World Cup – the West Indies and India have each won it twice, while Pakistan and Sri Lanka have one title apiece.

A total of 48 matches will be played at 11 venues over six weeks, with the final taking place at Lord’s, in London, on July 14.

PUBLISHED: 15/05/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images