• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Cricket World Cup 2019 flags infographic
Graphic shows flags of teams competing in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.


Cricket World Cup 2019 flags

By Chris Dinsdale

May 30, 2019 - July 14, 2019 - The ICC Cricket World Cup takes place in England and Wales, with 10 teams competing to be crowned World Champions. In 2019, the tournament reverts to a round robin format, with England, currently the top-ranked One Day International (ODI) team, seeking their first World Cup title on home soil.

Host nation England open the tournament against South Africa at The Oval, in London, on May 30. Reigning champions Australia begin their campaign against an improving Afghanistan, while 2015 finalists New Zealand face Sri Lanka.

India get a late start in the tournament due to the demands of the Indian Premier League. Captained by the world No.1 batsman Virat Kohli, they begin their campaign on June 5, also against South Africa.

Australia are aiming for a record-extending sixth title after their triumph in 2015. Only five countries have ever won the Cricket World Cup – the West Indies and India have each won it twice, while Pakistan and Sri Lanka have one title apiece.

The winning team will hoist the imposing silver and gilt trophy created for the 1999 World Cup by London jewellers Garrard.

A total of 48 matches will be played at 11 venues over six weeks, with the final taking place at Lord’s, in London, on July 14.

PUBLISHED: 30/04/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images