Graphic shows recent U.S. Masters winners, players with most titles at Augusta, and details of major champions in 2018.


U.S. Masters champions

By Chris Dinsdale

April 11, 2019 - April 14, 2019 - The 83rd U.S. Masters tournament, the first major golf tournament of 2019, takes place at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia.

The inaugural Augusta National Invitation Tournament in 1934 was won by U.S. golfer Horton Smith, who claimed $1,500 in prize money. Home favourites have triumphed in 59 out of 81 tournaments since, including Patrick Reed who took home $1.98 million after winning his first major title at the 2018 Masters.

Reed was joined as a maiden major champion by Italy’s Francesco Molinari, who will defend his British Open title in July, and American Brooks Koepka, the reigning U.S. Open and U.S. PGA champion.

The U.S. PGA Championship moves from its traditional August slot to May from 2019.

Major tournaments 2019:
April 11-14, U.S. Masters (Augusta National)
May 16-19, PGA Championship (Bethpage Black Course)
June 13-16, U.S. Open (Pebble Beach Golf Links)
July 18-21, British Open Championship (Royal Portrush)

PUBLISHED: 20/03/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images
Graphic News Standards