• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
Graphic shows tournament schedule and venues, with details of the IPL auction.


Indian Premier League 2019

By Chris Dinsdale

March 23, 2019 - May 12, 2019 - The Indian Premier League season begins with the Royal Challengers Bangalore taking on the defending champions, the Chennai Super Kings. A total of 56 matches are due to be played, with the final taking place at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on May 12.

The 12th season of the Indian Premier League is set to start three weeks earlier than usual to avoid potential clashes with the Indian general election, and to give players more recovery time ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup which starts on May 30.

Eight teams compete in IPL 2019:
Chennai Super Kings
Delhi Capitals
Kings XI Punjab
Kolkata Knight Riders
Mumbai Indians
Rajasthan Royals
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Sunrisers Hyderabad

PUBLISHED: 19/03/2019; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images