• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
Graphic shows rally route and stages.


Dakar Rally 2019

By Mike Tyler

January 6, 2019 - January 17, 2019 - Celebrating its 10th anniversary in South America, this year’s Dakar Rally takes place entirely in Peru – the first time ever that the race will be held in a single country.

Starting and finishing in Lima, the rally will see riders competing in 10 stages for a total distance of around 5,600km, including 3,000km of special stages. At least 70 percent of the terrain to be tackled will be sand and dunes. The race will also feature two marathon stages, where competitors service their own vehicles without technical assistance from rally crews.

The 2019 edition of the Dakar is being run solely in Peru after both Chile and Argentina withdrew due to austerity measures, while Bolivia failed to agree on a route with rally organisers, according to the AFP news agency.

The Dakar was moved from Africa in 2009 because of security issues that saw the 2008 rally cancelled.

PUBLISHED: 19/12/2018; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Associated Press