Publish button
Login to download. Need an ID and password? Register now!
NOBEL PRIZE: Chemistry winners 2018 infographic
Responsive button

Nobel Prize Chemistry winners 2018

Graphic News

October 3, 2018 -- Frances H Arnold (USA), George P Smith (USA), and Sir Gregory Winter (BRI) have won the 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for using the principles of evolution to produce new enzymes and antibodies.

Frances Arnold of the California Institute of Technology was awarded half the prize for conducting the first directed evolution of enzymes, leading to more environmentally friendly manufacturing of chemicals, including drugs, and in the production of renewable fuels.

George Smith of the University of Missouri and Gregory Winter of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, England, share the other half of the prize. Smith developed a new way to evolve proteins and Winter used the method for evolving antibodies with the aim of producing new drugs.

The first drug based on this work is used against rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis and inflammatory bowel disease, the academy said.

Welcome to Graphic News

If you are new to Graphic News there is a Website Guide to help you find your way around.