Publish button
Login to download. Need an ID and password? Register now!
NOBEL PRIZE: Physics winners 2018 infographic
Responsive button

Nobel Prize Physics winners 2018

Graphic News

October 2, 2018 -- Arthur Ashkin (USA), Gérard Mourou (FRA) and Donna Strickland (CAN) have won the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics for their groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.

Sweden's Royal Academy of Sciences, which chose the winners, said Ashkin, 96, developed "optical tweezers" that can grab tiny particles such as viruses without damaging them.

Strickland and Mourou helped develop short and intense laser pulses that have broad industrial and medical applications.

Strickland is the first female Nobel laureate to be named in three years and is only the third woman to have won the physics prize; the first was Marie Curie in 1903.

Welcome to Graphic News

If you are new to Graphic News there is a Website Guide to help you find your way around.