Publish button
Login to download. Need an ID and password? Register now!
SOCCER: World Cup winners and finalists infographic
Responsive button

World Cup winners and finalists

Graphic News

June 14-July 15, 2018 -- The 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia kicks off on June 14. Since the first World Cup over 80 years ago only 12 national teams have reached a World Cup final, and just eight of those have gone on to lift the trophy. Germany, champions in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014, can equal Brazil’s all-time record if they win a fifth title in Russia.

Italy, who did not qualify for the 2018 World Cup, have also lifted the trophy four times, while Uruguay and Argentina have two wins apiece. England, France and Spain have each won the tournament on a single occasion.

The other four nations who have reached the final but have not claimed the biggest prize are the Netherlands, who have been runners-up three times, Czechoslovakia and Hungary, with two appearances each, and Sweden, who came up against the might of Brazil in 1958.

Welcome to Graphic News

If you are new to Graphic News there is a Website Guide to help you find your way around.