• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Borders closed to refugees (1) infographic
Graphic shows countries that have introduced border controls.


Borders closed to refugees

By Duncan Mil

September 15, 2015 - At least five countries in the visa-free Schengen zone have introduced border controls and four countries have rejected a European Union plan to impose mandatory refugee quotas to relocate 160,000 migrants in Greece, Italy and Hungary.

The Associated Press reports that there is strong resistance from Romania, Hungary, Slovakia, Czech Republic and Poland to any compulsory measures to relocate refugees -- although these countries receive far fewer asylum claims than some countries.

Germany, on the other hand, is the most attractive place for migrants and it said on Monday that it expects 1 million migrants to arrive this year, revising an earlier expectation of 800,000.

PUBLISHED: 15/09/2015; STORY: Graphic News