• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Anerkennung des Palästinenserstaats infographic
Graphic zeigt die Staaten, die Palästina als Staat anerkennen.


Spanien, Norwegen und Irland anerkennen Palästina

By Jordi Bou

May 28, 2024 - Irland, Norway and Spain are set to recognise a Palestinian state, breaking from a consensus within Western Europe and the U.S. that statehood should be achieved through negotiations with Israel.

But the declarations by Ireland, Spain and Norway will put pressure on other countries in Europe, including the UK, France and Germany, to follow them in supporting Palestinian self-determination.

Around 140 of the 193 member-states of the United Nations have recognised Palestinian statehood since 1988, including most of the global south, Russia, China and India.

But only a handful of the 27 European Union members have done so, mostly former Communist countries as well as Sweden and Cyprus.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu has said that recognising a Palestinian state amounts to “a reward for terrorism”.

PUBLISHED: 24/05/2024; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images