• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 Israel’s neue Regierung infographic
Grafik zeigt die Mitglieder neuen israelischen Kabinetts.


Who’s who in Israels neuer Regierung

By Duncan Mil

June 14, 2021 - Israels Parlament, die Knesset, hat die neue Regierung mit einer hauchdünnen Mehrheit von 60-59 Stimmen gewählt. Premier Minister Benjamin Netanjahu verliert nach 12 Jahren an der Macht.

Israel’s new government held a celebratory first cabinet meeting on Sunday night (June 13) following the ousting of Netanyahu as prime minister in a historic Knesset vote.

Religious Jewish nationalist Naftali Bennett, 49, a former Netanyahu ally who opposes Palestinian statehood and the Iran nuclear deal, will serve as prime minister until August 2023. Centrist Yair Lapid will then lead the country through November 2025.

Emphasizing the broader views within the new coalition, Bennett urged his ministers to show “restraint” over the many ideological differences between different parties.

After four elections in two years, the new coalition plans to focus on issues with broad common ground. It’s set a target to approve a national budget -- last done in 2018 -- within 145 days, focusing on reducing inequality, boosting employment in the nation’s tech sector, and cutting high crime levels in Arab areas.

Blue and White leader Benny Gantz will serve as defence minister, and Yisrael Beitenu leader Avigdor Lieberman becomes finance minister. New Hope leader Gideon Saar is appointed Minister of Justice, while Labour’s Merav Michaeli receives the transport portfolio, and Meritz leader Nitzen Horowitz is appointed Minister of Health.

Mansour Abbas’s small United Arab List will be the first party in an Israeli government from Israel’s 21 per cent Arab minority -- Palestinian by culture and heritage, but Israeli by citizenship.

PUBLISHED: 14/06/2021; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Associated Press, Getty Images