• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 ناريندرا مودي يتطلع لولاية ثالثة تاريخية infographic
Graphic shows a list of India’s longest-serving prime ministers.


ناريندرا مودي يتطلع لولاية ثالثة تاريخية

By Jordi Bou

April 19, 2024 - June 1, 2024 - فوز ناريندرا مودي في الانتخابات المقبلة سيجعله ثاني رئيس وزراء بعد جواهر لال نهرو، بطل استقلال الهند، يفوز بولاية ثالثة على التوالي.

If he wins, Modi wouldn’t be the first prime minister to secure three successive terms; Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first prime minister, died in office in 1964, two years after being elected to a fourth straight term.

However, since then, no Indian leader has served more than two consecutive terms, leading some critics to say Modi is attempting to break a norm.

Meanwhile, if Modi stays in office until May 30, he will surpass Manmohan Singh to become the third longest-serving prime minister after Nehru and Indira Gandhi.

PUBLISHED: 11/04/2024; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Getty Images