• For full details of graphics available/in preparation, see Menu -> Planners
 مقاطعة للألعاب الأولمبية في بكين بقيادة الولايات المتحدة infographic
Graphic shows issues dogging preparations for the Beijing Winter Olympics, with timeline of previous Olympic boycotts.


مقاطعة للألعاب الأولمبية في بكين بقيادة الولايات المتحدة

By Ninian Carter

December 13, 2021 - انضمت أستراليا وبريطانيا وكندا إلى الولايات المتحدة في مقاطعة دبلوماسية لدورة الألعاب الأولمبية الشتوية المقررة في بكين في شباط (فبراير)، يدفعها ما تقول هذه الدول إنها انتهاكات واسعة النطاق لحقوق الإنسان من قبل الصين.

Australia, Britain, Canada and the United States are to boycott the Beijing Olympic Games diplomatically, prompted by what they argue are widespread rights abuses by China.

The boycott means the four nations will not send ministers or other dignitaries to the Winter Games in the Chinese capital, as friction over multiple issues strain relations between them and Beijing – the most serious rift since the Tiananmen Square massacre in 1989.

Topics of contention include human rights abuses against Muslims in the Xinjiang region, and the persecution on pro-democracy groups in Hong Kong. Not to mention ongoing tensions over Taiwan, Tibet, Covid-19 and missing tennis star Peng Shuai.

However, athletes from the four boycotting nations will still be able to take part in the Games.

PUBLISHED: 14/12/2021; STORY: Graphic News; PICTURES: Associated Press, Getty Images