Graphic shows cases of coronavirus across Europe as at 16:00GMT, Tuesday.


أوروبا تغلق حدودها في معركتها مع فيروس كورونا الجديد

By Jordi Bou

March 13, 2020 - The European Union is banning all non-essential travel throughout the Schengen free-travel zone and beyond as more countries close their borders in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

European Commission president, Ursula von der Leyen, said that the measure would cover EU countries and non-members of the bloc that are part of the 26-country Schengen passport-free travel zone. 

EU citizens, their family members, bloc residents and workers in sectors deemed “essential” would be exempt from the measure.

The measures would be in place for at least 30 days.

Meanwhile, tough new measures in France restricting movement from the home are coming into effect on Tuesday.

PUBLISHED: 17/03/2020; STORY: Graphic News
Graphic News Standards