Graphic shows data on Mediterranean arrivals of refugees and migrants.

الاتحاد الأوروبي

دول الاتحاد الأوروبي توافق على اتفاقية هجرة جديدة

July 23, 2019 - Eight member countries of the European Union have agreed to a new “solidarity mechanism” proposed by Germany and France to share the resettlement of migrants rescued in the Mediterranean.

The eight countries are Croatia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg and Portugal, according to the BBC.

Another six nations backed the plan in principle at talks in Paris.

Italy, which has been at the forefront of the migrant influx in Europe, did not take part in the meeting.

No details of the deal, announced by French President Emmanuel Macron, were provided.

PUBLISHED:23/07/2019; STORY: Graphic News